Skip to Content
145 King Street West, Toronto / 416.815.9595
Book An Appointment


Is Buckwheat Gluten-Free?

Lots of folks assume that anything with “wheat” in its name must contain gluten, which is the primary wheat protein. But as we’ve seen, buckwheat, like its pseudocereal buddies amaranth and quinoa, is a gluten-free grain. That makes buckwheat flour a good alternative for people who have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

If it’s imperative that you avoid gluten, you still need to be vigilant when sourcing buckwheat. While buckwheat is inherently gluten-free, it may still undergo processing on equipment that handles wheat. To avoid cross-contamination, look for certified gluten-free varieties.

And some buckwheat products may be mixed with other grain flours, so please read the ingredients and label to verify it’s a truly gluten-free product. For example, soba noodles are often described on the package as “buckwheat noodles,” but the ingredient list may show wheat flour as the first ingredient. That means the buckwheat is there partly for flavoring, as opposed to being the main grain in the product.

( Excerpt taken from the |Food Revolution Network)

Book An Appointment

Massage Therapy Acupuncture Naturopathy Osteopathy